Time

Time is always against me. I think it is my greatest enemy, for it has managed to ruin many a day and foil multiple plans. I could spend hours just laying on the dock enjoying nature, but there are deadlines to meet and they require my time. It has been a while since I have written a post on this blog about my struggles with anxiety and how I have fought my battles with it. There was a lot going on this summer and as much as I wish I could have been writing, there just wasn’t time or energy in my life to be doing it.

Now that I am back at school and always on my computer it seems to be a little easier to open a tab and take ten minutes to write for myself instead of for a class. Of course, I am the Queen of procrastination and it’s not hard to distract myself from my school work. With the school year upon us, I have new challenges to face with my anxiety and I must find new ways to help me control it.

This is where time becomes the problem. Deadlines are the worst possible thing I could ever imagine, they cause a large portion of the anxiety in the school year. It is also time that prevents me from doing the activities that are beneficial to keeping my mind clear and out of the danger zone of panic attacks. I can’t help anyone with advice at this point in the school year but I do have pointers for the few of you who might read this and are affected by anxieties.

  1. Make a schedule and keep to it! Include your eating schedule and a menu for your diet and try to stick with it as much as possible.
  2. Don’t over do it. If you feel yourself getting overwhelmed with everything going on, take a step back and look at where you need to go and what you need to do.
  3. Don’t be afraid to take a moment for yourself. Don’t make it a habit to skip classes or work, but healing yourself is important and should NOT EVER be neglected.
  4. Breathe. When you’re in a pinch – aka public and freaking out – close your eyes and take three deep breaths.
  5. Find a routine and a system that works for you and fits your needs.

One thing I always have to remind myself is that not everyone goes through this and not everyone can understand what is happening to those that suffer from anxiety. School is a hard place to find people that actually have anxiety and aren’t just stressed out. College is the place you need to learn to fend for yourself both mentally and physically, it’s an experience and takes a lot of courage; but if I can do it, anyone can.

Leave a Reply

